Home > 2010 World Cup > Ian Darke Makes The Call – Donovan Goal vs. Algeria

Ian Darke Makes The Call – Donovan Goal vs. Algeria

If you’re anything like me, you’ve watched the Landon Donovan goal against Algeria over and over. My boy, Z, has watched it so many times he can actually recite ESPN announcer Ian Darke’s call from memory.  He even uses an English accent with a slight Portsmouth lilt.  It’s quite entertaining. 

Ian Darke makes the call.

Watch the ABC broadcast replay of the goal here on Sportsgrid.com.  Also here is a good video posted by someone in the stands.  

I say all you have to do is read the text of Ian Darke’s call and you can hear his voice and see the goal vividly.  If not, Z will be happy to do the call it for you. Here’s the transcript: 

Howard…gratefully claims it.  Distribution…brilliant. Landon Donovan…are things on here for the USA? Can they do it here? Cross…And Dempsy is denied again…AND DONOVAN HAS SCORED!! OH CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS?  GOAL GOAL USA… CERTAINLY THROUGH, OHHHH IT’S INCREDIBLE! YOU COULD NOT WRITE A SCRIPT LIKE THIS!!!”

[followed by 27 seconds of silence as the USMNT celebrates]

Just in case you can’t imagine it, here is the goal from another point of view.  Not to take anything away from the legendary Andres Cantor’s call, but I am a big believer in the “Vin Scully Philosophy” of announcing.  I think when truly epic moments happen, silence is the best option.  As a viewer, we may simply want to pause to savor the sounds of the moment, knowing they are one-of-a-kind, wonderful and all too fleeting.  Great call Ian Darke!!

  1. Big Z
    June 25, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Might take me a while to memorize Mr. Cantors call, and forget about the accent!

    I do love the passion though by both men on their call!

  2. SounderCraig
    June 25, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Great moment, great call. I do want to make sure that Z has his call down correctly, so I will point out that in an interview on a podcast with Dan Levy, Ian Darke, when asked whether he yelled “Goal goal USA” or “Go go USA” says that he said “go go USA”. Also, I think (but am not 100% sure) that in the build up Ian says “There are things on here for the USA”. In any case, an iconic call for an iconic goal in US soccer history!

    • June 25, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks SounderCraig. Perhaps you know a certain Thai guy I know?
      Futbolgirl

  3. SounderCraig
    June 25, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Link for interview with Ian Darke, if you’d like to hear the interview: http://onthedlpodcast.com/2010/06/dl-exclusive-ian-darke-explains-his-call-of-american-soccers-greatest-goal/

  4. Big Z
    June 25, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Thank you for posting the link to the podcast. I likely wouldnt have found it otherwise. Interesting to hear why the long delay when Harkes was calling the replay part.

    SO I listened to the call 15 or 20 more times. Whether he said “There” or not is really tough to tell, but I could certainly make out that it was “go go and not goal goal”.

    Thanks again Sounder!

  5. Pizaster
    July 3, 2010 at 7:19 am

    I don’t mind Ian Darke’s call, but I’ve been watching the World Cup on mute and Andres Cantor on the radio simply because many of the ESPN announcers show almost zero passion and I feel at times I am watching the Pebble Beach Classic than I am the most thrilling sports tournament on Planet Earth. Andres treats every match and every goal like the Super Bowl and its magical. The Donovan call is one of the best I have ever heard in sports, and the sad part is not many people even know it exists. I should also put up the disclaimer that I am not spanish and don’t speak the language. i speak Italian fluently so I do pic up on words here and there. When you’re so damn good at calling the game that people are willing to listen to you who don’t even know the language, that’s saying something!

  1. June 26, 2010 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

